New EC boss and Deputies named

The Executive Director of the Institute of Economic Affairs, Jean Adukwei Mensa, has been appointed as a new Chairperson of the Electoral Commission.
This was announced in a statement from the Presidency on Monday, July 23.
Other persons nominated for appointment by President Akufo-Addo to the Commission include;
1. Samuel Tettey – Deputy Chairperson
2. Dr. Eric Asare Bossman – Deputy Chairperson
3. Ms. Adwoa Asuama Abrefa – Member of Commission
The statement, signed by the Chief of Staff, Frema Opare-Osei said Akufo-Addo had “sought the advice of the Council of State in accordance with Article 70(2) of the Constitution, for the appointment of a new Chairperson, two Deputy Chairpersons and a Member of the Electoral Commission (EC).”
“President Akufo-Addo is hopeful that the Council of State will discharge its constitutional duty expeditiously, to enable him make these critical appointments to this very important institution of State,” the statement added.
About Jean Adukwei Mensa
Mrs. Jean Mensa is the Executive Director of the Institute of Economic Affairs (IEA), Ghana’s premier public policy institute and Coordinator of the Ghana Political Parties Programme.
She is a lawyer with experience in the area of policy research and advocacy.
Worked on the Presidential Transition Act of 2012; the Revised 1992 Constitution of Ghana (draft); the Political Parties Funding Bill and the Revised Political Parties Bill.
Advocated for the review of Ghana’s 1992 Constitution and served as a Commissioner of the Government-established Constitution Review Commission.
Worked on the Government Committee tasked with preparing the Affirmative Action Bill.
By: Jonas Nyabor/

No comments